Day 6 Double moss-y!

So this was yesterday and I had to wing it a little.  Having planned a quiet evening with time to dedicate to this project, I agreed to a spontaneous suggested trip to the pictures to see The Muppets.  Well who would turn that down?  And I have to say the film was great and well worth the sacrifice.  Plus it also got me to thinking of adding a muppet theme to one of my yarn projects so will see what comes from that!

So a speedy idea was needed; I had been thinking over the weekend about how all my projects to date had been with cheap’n’nasty 100% acrylic yarn and how that was affece quality of the output!  I mean it’s good to break the back of the cheap yarn stash but I also want to start using nicer quality yarn.  So I dug out some Rowan 4ply pure wool I had tucked away and decided to teamoss stitch.  I am wanting to make a knitted back to add to a cushion cover using some vintage fabric I have and the moss stitch, yarn and colour could be a trial for  the back of this.  And we use moss stitch at work so much that it would be useful to know exactly how it’s  knitted.  And it’s pretty simple really!!

Dbl moss stitch in Rowan pure wool 4 ply

So a quick square 28 sts x 36 rows in double moss stitch.  Moss stitch turns out to be k1,p1 followed by p1,k1 so my dbl moss was k2,p2 x 2 rows then p2,k2 for 2 rows (repeat).  Not rocket science!!

Double moss stitch

And I know that this is stating the bleedin’ obvious but the quality of the yarn made such a difference.  The texture and handle just wouldn’t have been the same in the acrylic.  Note to self to buy lots  lovely new yarn atover the weekend!!

Up close & personal!

2 thoughts on “Day 6 Double moss-y!

Leave a Reply

